Overview of Diocesan Religion Curriculum  



The Diocesan Religion Curriculum is the standard for catechesis of youth grades Pre-Kindergarten through 12. The Pre-Kindergarten through Grade 5 Curriculum was most recently revised in 2006, the Young Adolescent Curriculum (Grades 6-8) revised in 2011, and the Adolescent Catechesis Curriculum (Grades 9-12) was promulgated in 2010. 


Functionally, our curriculum identifies the content of our Faith to which children in grades Pre-Kindergarten through Grade 12 are to be introduced. It is for use by all catechetical programs in the diocese: Catholic schools, parish-based programs, home schooling and youth ministry/adolescent catechesis programs.


There are some foundational elements to structure of the curriculum:


  • the goal of the curriculum is to guide all Catholics toward an adult, living, vibrant, growing faith;
  • the scope of an adult faith is so extensive that all points of Faith can not - nor necessarily should be - included in a curriculum for youth classes and programs;
  • no single textbook or published material could cover all necessary content foci.


The structure of the PK-8 Curriculum:


  • The four "Pillars of the Church," identified by the Catechism of the Catholic Church form the backbone for the curriculum.
  • Under each Pillar are three or four principle "Faith Themes" that organize the content.
  • Under each Faith Theme, then, are various, age appropriate content foci that state the basic teachings that address children's faith in age appropriate ways.
  • The Faith Themes and Content Foci are divided into four primary sections, corresponding to age groups: Primary (grades K - 2), Intermediate (grades 3 - 5), Young Adolescence (grades 6 - 8).
  • While these sections correspond to specific age groups, their subdivisions are less specific. For example, in the Young Adolescent Curriculum, the total content of the curriculum is separated into three thematic components, or "years": "The God Year," "The Jesus Year," and, "The Holy Spirit/Church" year. This was done so as to adapt the entire curriculum more easily to the growing number of "non-grade-oriented" programs being implemented by parishes in the diocese but also affords Catholic schools throughout the diocese to implement the curriculum in an academic calendar. 


The Pillars of the Church and Faith Themes:

Pillar: Profession of Faith

Pillar: Liturgy and Sacraments
Revelation Sacraments
Scripture Worship
Creedal Concepts Liturgical Year
Church Pillar: Morality
Pillar: Christian Prayer Christian Lifestyles
Faith & Identity Morality
Personal Growth Social Justice/Service
Prayer Relationships



The structure of the Adolescent Catechesis (Grades 9-12) curriculum:


  • The curriculum is formed with the USCCB's Doctrinal Elements for a Framework for Adolescent Catechesis as it's primary catechetical platform.
  • The curriculum's primary goal is fostering an educated, informed, and personal discipleship in Jesus Christ that carries the adolescent into young adulthood and beyond.
  • The curriculum presents the learned material using three learning elements: Cognitive Goals, Affective Goals, and Behavioral Goals.   

Each parish and Catholic school is to have at least one copy of the curriculum.


Please consult with the principal, catechetical leader or youth minister for more information.