Planning Groups and Merged Parishes

In 1997 the 200 parishes and faith communities in the Diocese of Rochester were organized into 36 planning groups.  Each planning group has created two five-year pastoral plans, during phases one and two of “Pastoral Planning for the New Millennium.”  Over time, many of these planning groups have become first clusters and now merged parishes.


Until the next Bishop of Rochester is appointed, planning continues primarily in two ways:


1. Local planning processes at the planning group, parish, or an intermediate level— to set pastoral priorities for mission, often in response to financial and/or demographic challenges.


2. Efforts to build collaborative ministries and create new pastoral initiatives among neighboring parishes and faith communities.


Current Planning Groups

Auburn / Northern Cayuga


Central Steuben


E. Greece / Charlotte

E. Livingston / SE Ontario/SE Monroe

E. Wayne / N. Cayuga


Geneva / Seneca Falls / Waterloo



NW Ontario

Penfield / E. Rochester / Fairport / Perinton

Pittsford / Mendon

Rochester Northeast

Rochester West

Southern Seneca / Northwest Tompkins

SW Monroe / NW Livingston



Western Greece

W. Wayne


Merged Parishes & Clusters (Former Planning Groups)

All Saints, Corning

Bl. Kateri Tekakwitha, Irondequoit

Blessed Trinity / St. Patrick, Owego

Good Shepherd  Catholic Community,  


Bl. Marianne Cope, Rush / Henrietta

Holy Family, Wayland

Our Lady of the Lakes, Penn Yan

Our Lady of the Valley, Hornell

Peace of Christ, Rochester

St. Luke the Evangelist, Geneseo



Former Planning Groups (Archived)

19th Ward

Center City East

City East

City West

E. Wayne / N. Cayuga

Flower City Park / Lexington


Seneca Falls / Waterloo