Nine men ordained to diaconate June 5

Nine men will be ordained to the diaconate – eight as permanent deacons and one as a transitional deacon – on June 5, 2010, at a 10:30 a.m. Mass at Sacred Heart Cathedral, Rochester.

They are Mark Bovenzi, Patrick DiLaura, Peter Dohr, Joseph Erway, Raymond Garbach, Paul Sartori, Lon Smith and Thomas Uschold. Click here for the Catholic Courier story providing details about the eight men.

In addition, Scott Caton of Spencerport will be ordained to the one-year transitional diaconate in anticipation of his ordination as a priest in 2011.

A permanent deacon – most often a married man – is ordained for service within the church, according to Deacon David Palma, director of deacon personnel for the diocese.

A deacon’s ministry ranges from Service of the Word (proclaiming the Gospel message, teaching, conducting retreats and counseling), Service of the Altar (assisting at Mass, witnessing marriages, baptizing and presiding at wakes and funerals) to Service of Charity (building up human dignity as ministers of charity and justice).

Candidates for the permanent diaconate must participate in four years of formation at St. Bernard’s School of Theology and Ministry. Many deacons complete a master’s degree in pastoral studies.

The Diocese of Rochester has more than 100 active deacons.