Review Board

The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops mandated review boards for all dioceses/eparchies with the Charter for the Protection of Children and Young People in 2002.

Dioceses are to have a review board that functions as a confidential consultative body to the bishop/eparch. The majority of its members are to be lay persons not in the employ of the diocese (see Norm 5 in Essential Norms for Diocesan/Eparchial Policies Dealing with Allegations of Sexual Abuse of Minors by Priests or Deacons, 2006). This board is to advise the diocesan bishop in his assessment of allegations of sexual abuse of minors and in his determination of a cleric’s suitability for ministry. It is regularly to review diocesan policies and procedures for dealing with sexual abuse of minors. Also, the board can review these matters both retrospectively and prospectively and give advice on all aspects of responses in connection with these cases.

The Diocese of Rochester has had a Review Board in place since 1993.

Individual members have expertise in law enforcement, the provision of mental health services, and legal advocacy.

Lay Members of the current Diocesan Review Board are:

  • John “Jack” McIntyre, CHAIR and Psychiatry professor at the University of Rochester Medical Center;
  • Douglas Nordquist, Retired Town of Ogden police chief
  • James VanBrederode, Retired Town of Gates police chief
  • Robert Napier, Criminal defense lawyer
  • Teresa Pare, Attorney specializing in family law
  • Margaret Joynt, Retired child-advocacy lawyer
  • Jeff Munson, Clinical social worker who works with men who were sexually abused as youths
  • Gordon Whitehair, retired Gates Police Department

Clergy Members of the current Diocesan Review Board are:

  • Father Daniel Condon, Diocesan Chancellor
  • Father Kevin McKenna, Pastor of Saint Theodore’s Church, Gates, and Diocesan Chancellor from 1991-2001.

Assisting the board are:

  • Philip Spellane, Attorney
  • Deborah Housel, Diocesan Victim Assistance Coordinator