Diocesan Finance (Stewardship) Council

Members of the Stewardship/ Diocesan Finance Council (DFC) and areas of expertise

In accordance with Canon 492, the diocesan finance council consists of at least three members of the Christian faithful truly expert in financial affairs and civil law, outstanding in integrity, and appointed by the bishop to serve for five years. At the end of this period, they can be appointed for other five-year term. The council meets four times throughout the year to discuss Diocesan planning, prepare budgets (May meeting) and to examine and account of revenue and expenses, and the Bishop presents a Statement of Income & Expenses and a Balance Sheet (Statement of Financial Position) for all entities under his jurisdiction after the close of the year. (October meeting)

Stewardship Council Meeting Agendas

Member and Contact Information Term Start Date Term 1 End Date Term 2 End Date
Patrick C. Burke, Chair, Managing Principal of Burke Group (Human Resources)
Partick.Burke@dor.org
 July 1, 2017  June 30, 2022
Richard J. Crossed, Retired CEO of Confier Reality LLC (Business entrepreneur)
Richard.Crossed@dor.org
 July 1, 2014  June 30, 2019  June 30, 2024
Robert E. Finnerty, AVP Communications/Chief Communications Officer at Rochester Institute of Technology (Communications)
Robert.Finnerty@dor.org
 October 30, 2016  June 30, 2021  June 30, 2026
Timothy M. Fitzgerald, JD, Member Harris Beach PLLC (Law)
Timothy.Fitzgetald@dor.org
 July 1, 2016  June 30, 2021  June 30, 2026
Edward W. Kay Jr., CPA, Retired Managing Partner PwC Rochester (Finance/Audit)
Edward.Kay@dor.org
 July 1, 2014  June 30, 2019  June 30, 2024
Jack Kreckel, Senior Associate Vice President of University Advancement at the University of Rochester (Stewardship & Development)
Jack.Kreckel@dor.org
December 1, 2016  June 30, 2021  June 30, 2026
Susan C. Miller, Corporate Director Risk Financing and Insurance at The Cooper Companies
Susan.Miller@dor.org
 July 1, 2016  June 30, 2021  June 30, 2026
Fran Pullano, MBA, CFCI, Principal Pullano & Company (Human Resources)
Fran.Pullano@dor.org
 July 1, 2017  June 30, 2022 June 30, 2027
Dr. Gerard Rooney, President, St. John Fisher College (Administration)
Gerard.Rooney@dor.org 
September 1, 2022  August 31, 2027 August 31, 2032
Miriam Rosa, Supply Chain Manager at Foodlink (Finance)
Miriam.Rosa@dor.org
 July 1, 2019  June 30, 2024 June 20, 2029
Michael Sauter, Director of Campus Ministry, SUNY Geneseo (Ministry)
Michael.Sauter@dor.org 
 July 1, 2016  June 30, 2021  June 30, 2026
Leon T. Sawyko, JD, Retired Counsel, Harris Beach PLLC (Law)
Leon.Sawyko@dor.org
 July 1, 2016  June 30, 2021  June 30, 2026
Reverend Daniel E. White, M.Div. (Ministry/Administration)
1150 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY  14624
 July 1, 2018  June 30, 2023 June 30, 2028

Ex-officio

  • The Most Reverend Salvatore R. Matano – 1150 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY  14624
  • Very Reverend Paul J. Tomasso – 1150 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY  14624
  • Lisa M. Passero – 1150 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY  14624
  • Sister Kathleen Wayne, RSM – c/o 1150 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY  14624
  • Reverend Daniel J. Condon – 1150 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY  14624
  • Very Reverend William Coffas – c/o 1150 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY  14624
  • Sister Eileen Daly, SSJ – c/o 1150 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY  14624
  • Anthony Adams – Anthony.Adams@dor.org
  • Dr. Stephen Loughlin – c/o 1150 Buffalo Rd., Rochester, NY  14624

Acts of Extraordinary Administration, Canon 1277, decrees that canonical validity requires the diocesan bishop to obtain the consent of the diocesan finance council and the college of consultors, when initiating a program of financing by the issuance of financial instruments, resolving claims by financial settlement, engaging operations that are not substantially related to the Church to generate income, or entering into financial/contractual agreements in which actual or potential conflict of interest with diocesan leaders.

  1. The maximum limit for alienation and any transaction which, according to the norm of law, can worsen the patrimonial condition is $3,500,000.
  2. The minimum limit for alienation and any transaction which, according to the norm of law, can worsen the patrimonial condition is $250,000.
  3. For the alienation of property of other public juridic persons subject to the Diocesan Bishop, the maximum limit is $3,500,000 and the minimum limit is $25,000 or 10% of the prior year’s ordinary annual income ($4,200,000 for the diocese of Rochester YE 6.30.19), whichever is higher.